Back in North Aff

I lived in the hot desert for 12 years, and now I am back, but not in the desert. I live on the sea! Wow, what a treat. At least for a few months, I am enjoying the sound of happy birds in the morning and a sightline to the sea.  Seaview, I call this house.

Seaview, looking past the house that was built between us and the sea.

Seaview, looking past the house that was built between us and the sea.

The house I am in is about 25 years old–I can tell by the door handles and the shutters. The house in front of me is about 10 years old, also you can tell by the features, the style and the shutters.  So for a few years, the back balcony where I am living (on the second floor) looked out at the Mediterranean, straight ahead. It must have been a broad view… Now we have the view of the sea to one side of that building, really quite nice, or to the other side, a bit restricted, but if you go to the end of the balcony, you can see all it on an angle. It seems from that one spot, to be restricted.

However, if you go into my bedroom, you will find a nice little feature in the shape of a window. The architect was a little bit creative with this house, it is slightly more than just a box…and a favourite thing of mine is that the bedroom sticks out a half a meter more than the rest of the house, on the side where the balcony only gets a sliver of a view around the newer house in front.  So when the handle isn’t stuck shut, on this window, and I get it open, there it is–the view of the Mediterranean, unimpeded by a house in front, because it is just a small window.

If I had a bigger window, I’d realize I had only a partial view.

Thank God for times when we only have a small window in our life, and the view is great and we don’t know that the bigger picture isn’t as wonderful!  Many a time it is the other way around, but thanks, Friend, for the small windows, too.

~ by clarejanzen3 on September 23, 2013.

One Response to “Back in North Aff”

  1. Great view. So glad you are by the sea. it is a great change for you.

Leave a comment